Joseph Lewis

Fiction | Cleveland State University | Class of 2021

 Joe writes old-school horror in the tradition of Peter Straub, Stephen King & John Langan. His novel is classic enclosed-space horror where an occasionally-sympathetic and always-scary supernatural force returns to a desolate island on Lake Erie in the dead of winter and proceeds to exact its icy revenge. Joe's work is deeply rooted in empathetic characterization; he gives us people to root for and then lets a Lovecraftian world turn its screws against them. —Imad Rahman

Lewis_Joseph_BW

About Joseph

Joseph Lewis is currently in his last semester as a graduate student in Cleveland State University’s NEOMFA Creative Writing Program. He previously taught English and Film Studies at the Sichuan University of Arts and Science in China, where he served as a Peace Corps Volunteer for three years. He has been published in Novel Noctule and Prairie Margins literary magazines, and his screenplay, Retribution, placed second in the 2003 Ohio Independent Screenplay contest. He is currently in the process of editing his first novel, which will be set on a fictitious Lake Erie island during the winter.

JOSEPH'S FAST FACTS
Where can we find your work?

My short story “The Last Golden Hour” was recently published in Novel Noctule, which is linked above.

Writing-wise what are you currently working on?

I am currently in the process of editing my thesis/novel. As of today, I’ll be on my sixth draft.

Choice of last meal?

Mr. Hero’s Cheesesteak sandwich with waffle fries, and a slice of key lime pie for dessert.

NEOMFA's Ohio icon

© 2019 NEOMFA
English Department
Kent State University
P.O. Box 5190
Kent, Ohio 44242

X
X